The one where I out myself as having a juvenile sense of humor

Standard

I was flipping through this month’s edition of U.S. Catholic in the library at school today and I stumbled upon this sentence and just can’t seem to stop laughing.

photo2

I just don’t normally associate prophets who wrote books of the Bible with being “the pooper of every party”, but that is going to be my new favorite thing to say to people.  I even used the expression in class today and I’m sure you can imagine that it was quite well received.

The full quote is:

“Woe to those who yearn for the day of the Lord!  It will be darkness, not light!  As if someone fled from a lion, and a bear met him; or as if on entering the house, he rested his hand against the wall, and a snake bit it.” (Amos 5:18-19)

So yeah, I get it – he is definitely the pooper of all parties.  I just hope I don’t start giggling inappropriately if I ever encounter this reading in Mass.

This is what I get for teaching at an all boys school.

Leave a Reply

